About Us

Our Mission
Improving lives through building community partnerships which identify needs and fund solutions that result in a stronger and healthier community.

Our Vision
Improving lives through building a stronger and healthier community.

Our Purpose
County United Way acts primarily for contributors seeking the most cost-effect solutions to problems through funding community service organizations that demonstrate measurable results in providing health and human care services to people with needs.

Issues facing communities impact all citizens. United Way has chosen the following issues on which to focus:
  • Education
  • Health
  • Income
Organizations and individuals working together can resolve issues more effectively.

County United Way, Inc. Informational Video

The Allegany County Chamber of Commerce held a ribbon cutting ceremony on Thursday, July 14, 2016 to welcome County United Way to the Chamber and to Allegany County.  They are located at 101 South Centre Street, Cumberland, Maryland.   


Pictured left to right:
First Row:
Steve MacGray, Chamber of Commerce Board member, Mary Bond, County United Way volunteer, Michele Walker, Office Manager, County United Way, Commissioner William Valentine, Allegany County, Mayor Brian Grim, City of Cumberland, Juli McCoy, Finance Manager, County United Way, Mary Beth Pirolozzi, Executive Director, County United Way, Betsey Hurwitz-Schwab, President, County United Way Board of Directors, Julianna Albowicz, Representative, Senator Barbara Mikulski, Linda Tappe, United Way of Mineral CountyChair, Diana Loar, Western Maryland Food Bank, Rod Barker, Chamber Membership Committee Co-Chair

Back Row:
Stu Czapski, Chamber of Commerce Executive Director, Phil Rodeheaver, United Way of Garrett County Treasurer, James Robertson, Chamber Board of Director member, Nicholas Hadley, United Way of Allegany County Executive Committee member, Alan Brinsfield, building owner and Tidewater Mortgage occupying second floor, Robin Summerfield, Representative, Senator Ben Cardin, Sandi Saville, Legacy Leadership donor to County United Way, Jeremy Irons, Chamber Board of Director Chairman, Debi Langan, Chamber Board of Director First Vice Chair